BlueScope named worldsteel Sustainability Champion

Sustainability Champion

BlueScope has been recognised as a worldsteel Sustainability Champion for our performance and efforts in 2019.  Champions demonstrate commitment to sustainable development and the circular economy, and to making a tangible impact.

The worldsteel Sustainability Champion program encourages companies to increase their efforts, set higher standards, and make further progress.  To qualify, companies must meet the following criteria each year:

  1. Commitment:
    Sign up to the worldsteel sustainable development charter.
  2. Measurement:
    Provide data on six of the worldsteel Sustainability Indicators (Material efficiency, Environmental management system, Lost time injury frequency rate, Employee training, Investment in new processes and products, Economic value distributed) and submit Life Cycle Inventory data to worldsteel’s data collection program (data should cover more than 50% of the company’s crude steel production and should be less than five years old).
  3. Action
    Publish a sustainability-related report and be shortlisted in one of the 5 categories of the worldsteel Steelie Awards (Innovation of the year, Excellence in sustainability, Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment, Excellence in education and training, and Excellence in Communications programs) or be recognised in the Safety and Health recognition program.

BlueScope has met the first two criteria for a number of years, but qualified for recognition as a Sustainability Champion after Australian Steel Products’ Power Purchase Agreement was nominated in the Excellence in Sustainability category of worldsteel's 2019 Steelie Awards.  Watch this 2019 clip for more information about this initiative.